CCE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • The written exam has 100 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed book, with a non-programmable calculator allowed.
  • Educational Development carries 33% of the written exam, more than any other domain.
  • The handbook lists a passing scaled score of 300, which is not a raw 75%.
  • Certification fee is $250 for ACF members and $490 for non-members; all-in costs are unverified.

Which CCE This Cheat Sheet Covers

"CCE" is shared by several unrelated credentials. This page covers only the Certified Culinary Educator (CCE) offered by the American Culinary Federation, Inc. (ACF). Every fact below applies to that credential and nothing else. If you landed here looking for a different CCE, the numbers, fees, and domains here will not match your exam. For background on the name itself, see What Does CCE Stand For? and What Is CCE Certification?.

The ACF credential is aimed at people who teach cooking and baking professionally: culinary instructors, program faculty, and chefs who train others. That focus explains why the exam is weighted toward pedagogy rather than pure kitchen technique. This sheet condenses what you need to recall quickly; for fuller treatment, pair it with the CCE Study Guide and the complete domains guide.

The Exam at a Glance

Here is the format on one screen. Verified items come from ACF's published CCE page and candidate handbook; anything the issuer has not disclosed is marked as such rather than guessed.

ItemWhat the Issuer Publishes
Certifying bodyAmerican Culinary Federation, Inc.
Written format100 multiple-choice questions, 90 minutes
Scored vs. unscored splitUnverified
DeliveryACF Online Learning Center (no longer PSI), with an ACF-approved, physically present third-party proctor
MaterialsClosed book; non-programmable calculator allowed
ResultImmediate written result
Retake wait14 days per the current delivery page
Passing standardScaled score of 300 (not a raw 75%)
Other componentsApplicable savory CSC / pastry CWPC practical and a teaching demonstration; exemptions and a live-lesson alternative may apply
ValidityFive years
Why the proctor line matters: Delivery moved from PSI to the ACF Online Learning Center, but you still sit the exam with a physically present, ACF-approved proctor. Do not assume it is a fully remote, unsupervised test. Confirm proctor arrangements with ACF before you plan your exam day.

For scheduling specifics, see CCE Exam Dates. For how the format feels in practice, How Hard Is the CCE Exam? breaks down the difficulty drivers.

Six Domains, Six Weights

The written exam specifications in the candidate handbook divide content into six weighted areas totaling 100%. Memorize this table first; it tells you where your study hours earn the most return.

DomainWeight
1. Educational Development33%
2. Educational Management13%
3. Teaching Savory Cooking16%
4. Teaching Baking and Pastry14%
5. Safety and Sanitation14%
6. Nutrition10%

Two observations follow from the numbers. First, Educational Development alone outweighs Savory and Pastry teaching combined (33% versus 30%). Second, Educational Management plus Nutrition together equal 23%, which is less than Educational Development by a wide margin, so a candidate who neglects the pedagogy domain cannot make it up elsewhere. These weights describe the written knowledge exam only; the practical and teaching demonstration are assessed separately. The domain-by-domain breakdown lives in CCE Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.

Educational Development: The 33% Domain

This is the heaviest domain and the one that most separates a working chef from a credentialed educator. The handbook lists five subtopics under it.

Educational Development (33%)

Expect questions framed around classroom situations, where you choose the best instructional or assessment decision rather than recall a definition.

  • Curriculum Planning and Development: sequencing outcomes, aligning objectives to activities and assessments
  • Teaching Methodology: choosing methods that fit a lab, lecture, or demonstration setting
  • Evaluation and Assessment: matching assessment type to the skill or knowledge being measured
  • Evaluation Psychology: the handbook's label for the learning-psychology subtopic (see note below)
  • Classroom Management: maintaining order, safety, and engagement in a working kitchen classroom
A labeling note: The indexed handbook text reads "Evaluation Psychology," while ACF's eligibility page separately says "Educational Psychology." This article preserves the handbook wording as indexed and does not assert which label is the corrected official one. Study the underlying content either way: how learners acquire skills, motivation, and how psychology informs evaluation.

Because this domain is scenario-heavy, practice in that style is worth more than flashcards. Work through realistic items on the CCE practice test site and focus on why the best answer beats the second-best one.

Management, Savory, and Pastry Teaching Topics

These three domains cover the business-of-teaching side and the two subject-teaching tracks. Notice that Savory and Pastry mirror each other in structure.

Educational Management (13%)

Administrative duties that surround the classroom.

  • Financial Management
  • Legal
  • Student Service Responsibilities
  • Departmental Service Responsibilities

Teaching Savory Cooking (16%)

How to plan and deliver savory instruction, not just how to cook.

  • Planning and Implementation
  • Professional Standards
  • Educational Demonstrations
  • Evaluation

Teaching Baking and Pastry (14%)

The same four-part structure applied to baking and pastry instruction.

  • Planning and Implementation
  • Professional Standards
  • Educational Demonstrations
  • Evaluation

Candidates from a savory background often under-prepare for the pastry domain, and vice versa. Since each carries real weight, treat both as required. The questions test your ability to plan a lesson, demonstrate a technique effectively, and evaluate student performance, so be ready to reason about teaching choices in each discipline, not just recite technique.

Safety and Sanitation and Nutrition

These two domains together account for 24% of the written exam. They feel familiar to most chefs, which is exactly why they cost people points: the educator framing changes the question. You are being asked how to teach and enforce safe, sound practice, not merely whether you know it.

Safety and Sanitation (14%)

Think of this as classroom-kitchen responsibility.

  • Safe food handling expectations you must model and enforce for students
  • Sanitation practices within a teaching lab
  • Your duty of care as the instructor

Nutrition (10%)

The smallest domain, and the one where modest effort pays off efficiently.

  • Core nutrition concepts relevant to culinary instruction
  • How nutrition content fits into curriculum and demonstrations

Key Takeaway

Do not skip the "easy" domains. At 14% and 10%, Safety and Sanitation and Nutrition are worth 24 of every 100 questions by weight. A short, focused review here is one of the cheapest ways to protect your score.

Beyond the Written Test: Practical and Demonstration

The written exam is one piece of the credential. The process also includes an applicable practical (the savory CSC or pastry CWPC) and a teaching demonstration. Exemptions from the practical and a live-lesson alternative may apply depending on your background, so check your own situation with ACF rather than assuming either way.

  • Written assessment: the 100-question knowledge exam described above.
  • Practical: savory CSC or pastry CWPC, where applicable.
  • Teaching demonstration: shows you can actually deliver instruction, not just answer questions about it.

The weights in the domain table apply to the written exam only. Preparing for the demonstration is a separate task: rehearse a lesson with clear objectives, a demonstration, and a way to check learning. Eligibility itself involves an education or credential pathway, 120 pedagogical hours, required subject courses, industry experience, and 1,200 teaching hours. The full breakdown is in CCE Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Fees, Retakes, and Renewal Rules

Fees

The listed certification fee is $250 for ACF members and $490 for non-members. The all-in cost of the full assessment process (written exam, practical, demonstration, proctoring) is unverified, so budget conservatively and confirm line items with ACF. The member discount is large enough that membership status deserves a look before you pay. See CCE Certification Cost for the pricing breakdown and Is the CCE Certification Worth It? for the return-on-investment angle.

Retakes

The current delivery page lists a 14-day retake wait. Results are immediate for the written portion, so you will know where you stand before leaving the testing session.

Renewal

Renewal ItemRequirement
Validity periodFive years
Continuing education80 CE hours for a single-credential renewal
Service/leadership/competition share25% of the CE must be qualifying service, leadership, or competition activity
Free renewal conditionUninterrupted five-year ACF membership

The free-renewal condition is easy to overlook: a lapse in membership during the cycle changes the cost picture. Track qualifying service and leadership activity as you go rather than reconstructing it in year five.

Scoring Facts You Should Not Misread

Three scoring points trip candidates up repeatedly.

  1. 300 is a scaled score. The handbook states a passing scaled score of 300, and that figure is not a raw 75%. You cannot convert it to a number of questions you may miss, so aim for strong command across every domain instead of targeting a minimum.
  2. The scored/unscored split is unverified. The handbook states 100 questions, but whether all are scored is not confirmed. Answer every question as though it counts.
  3. The current pass rate is not publicly disclosed. The only historical figure on record is a 2019 written pass rate of 56.3% across 32 administrations. That is old and small-sample, so treat it as context rather than a forecast.
Read the data carefully: A 56.3% historical written pass rate suggests the exam is not a formality, but 32 administrations in 2019 says little about today's delivery model or candidate pool. For a fuller discussion, see CCE Pass Rate: What the Data Shows and CCE Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Sequencing Your Review Around the Weights

If you have roughly a month, let the domain weights decide the order and the time. This is one example, not a prescription; adjust to your own gaps.

Week 1

Educational Development, Part One

  • Curriculum Planning and Development; Teaching Methodology
  • Write out how you would structure a lesson from objective to assessment
Week 2

Educational Development, Part Two plus Management

  • Evaluation and Assessment, Evaluation Psychology, Classroom Management
  • Financial, Legal, Student Service, and Departmental responsibilities
Week 3

Savory and Pastry Teaching

  • Planning, Professional Standards, Demonstrations, Evaluation for each track
  • Give extra time to whichever discipline is not your background
Week 4

Safety, Nutrition, and Timed Practice

  • Safety and Sanitation, then Nutrition
  • Run a full 100-question set against a 90-minute clock, then revisit your weakest domain

Heavy domains go first because they absorb the most time and benefit most from repetition. Save a timed run for the end so pacing, roughly 54 seconds per question on average, becomes second nature. Use the practice questions to find where scenario items trip you up, and read the full study guide for deeper methodology.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the CCE written exam?

The issuer handbook states 100 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes. Whether every question is scored is unverified, so treat each one as counting toward your result.

Which CCE domain is weighted most heavily?

Educational Development, at 33% of the written exam. It covers curriculum planning, teaching methodology, evaluation and assessment, the psychology subtopic, and classroom management.

What score do I need to pass?

The handbook states a passing scaled score of 300. That is a scaled figure, not a raw 75%, so it does not translate to a fixed number of correct answers. Details are in the passing score guide.

How much does CCE certification cost?

The listed certification fee is $250 for ACF members and $490 for non-members. All-in costs across the full assessment process are unverified, so confirm specifics with ACF and see the cost breakdown.

How long is the certification valid, and how do I renew?

It is valid for five years. Single-credential renewal requires 80 CE hours, including 25% in qualifying service, leadership, or competition activity. Free renewal requires uninterrupted five-year ACF membership.

Ready to pass your CCE exam?

Put this into practice with free CCE questions across every exam domain.